Nimble hands over the shutter

4 Feb

My photography experience is hardly much to be tagged as my kind of photography. My photography professor used to tell me, ‘We are too conditioned by our social selves, it dims our perspectives, it clouds the imagination.’ Initially, i did not agree. But today i have understood what he meant. Letting go of the perceptions we have developed as a result of our socialization process opens newer perspectives and windows of imagination. My city- Bombay (Pardon me, i cannot force myself to call it Mumbai just because a schizophrenic old fool running a pseudo-ancient extremist party tells me to call it Mumbai, i ‘shan’t’ call it Mumbai), well, i read somewhere in a travel book that it is not a beautiful city. I beg to differ on that. It pulls the strings of anyone’s heart just as photography pulled me from the boredom existence of a student life. Creating images is something that i have always loved. My first love with the camera began when my dad clicked photos of me during my childhood. I was quite a ever- ready subject, ready to offer a million poses inspired from movies of the day. I had been brought up with that kind of fashion sense too. If the latest movie heroine wore orange pants and black netted top i had to get it the next day! Similarly for films like Hum aapke hain kaun, Aflatoon, etc i copied Madhuri and Urmila on every costume of theirs, whereas the rest of the world was busy copying their dance moves. Many years down the line, it is me with my Sony DSC H50 clicking pictures of little members of my family. ( Now kindly don’t turn your nose up just because it’s a Sony it’s still my first camera hence i love it unconditionally). It is indeed a very fulfilling experience, kind of an honor to freeze the moments of their early life on to them, spreading smiles across their grown up faces. After taking up photography, i feel i have some legacy to pass on as otherwise i have nothing in heirloom or tradition to pass on, i am a terrible sindhi so culturally i have nothing to pass on (yikes). Tomorrow when the younger ones in my family get the photographs and feel good, i shall know that i have succeeded.

4 Responses to “Nimble hands over the shutter”

  1. SkP February 4, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    love it – amazed by the captured fragility

  2. TweeCo March 7, 2011 at 5:48 am #

    nice photo! You are good at child portraits

  3. gazingatnavels April 2, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

    What you say about socialization is interesting. Since we are such social beings can there be such a thing as genuine agency?

    This is a lovely photo. The baby looks very pensive and wise.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nimble hands over the shutter (via sanamterikasam) « Tarachand's space - February 4, 2011

    […] My photography experience is hardly much to be tagged as my kind of photography. My photography professor used to tell me, 'We are too conditioned by our social selves, it dims our perspectives, it clouds the imagination.' Initially, i did not agree. But today i have understood what he meant. Letting go of the perceptions we have developed as a result of our socialization process opens newer perspectives and windows of imagination. My city- Bomba … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

